
Dark and Light
Dark and Light is a vast sandbox survival RPG set in a world dominated by powerful elemental forces. Find your way in a meticulously crafted world, featuring breathtaking landscapes, a wide variety of mythical creatures, and limitless possibility to craft, build, and unlock dozens of powerful weapons, spells, and skills.
MMORPGOpen WorldRole-PlayingSandboxSimulationSurvival
Your like matters. Every heart nudges this game's GamingPickz Score and where it ranks (a small 5% of the score), so the lists get better for everyone.
- Released
- 2017
- Developer
- Snail Games USA
- Platforms
- 1 systems
- Critics
- Not scored
- Steam Deck
- playable
- Download
- 50 GB
What is Dark and Light?
Dark and Light is a vast sandbox survival RPG set in a world dominated by powerful elemental forces. Find your way in a meticulously crafted world, featuring breathtaking landscapes, a wide variety of mythical creatures, and limitless possibility to craft, build, and unlock dozens of powerful weapons, spells, and skills.
Description as published by the developer on its own store page, read 30 August 2026. It is marketing copy, not our assessment.
The record
| First released | 19 July 2017 |
|---|---|
| Developer | Snail Games USA |
| Publisher | Snail Games USA |
| Platforms | PC |
| Genres | MMORPG, Open World, Role-Playing, Sandbox, Simulation, Survival |
| Languages | 8 supported |
Source. Catalogue facts from Wikidata , seeded TBA. Store data from Steam, read 30 August 2026.
How was Dark and Light received?
Method. Player figures are Steam's own totals for the PC version, read 30 August 2026. The Metacritic score is the one Steam publishes on its store page and can lag the site itself. Neither is our opinion. We have not published a review of this game.
What does it support?
| Capability | Support |
|---|---|
| Controller | Not stated |
| Cloud saves | No |
| Cross-platform play | No |
| Mod support | Steam Workshop |
| Online play | Yes |
| In-game purchases | No |
| Steam Deck | playable |
| Download size | 50 GB |
| Add-on content | 1 DLC listed |
| Age gate | None |
Method. Read from the publisher's Steam listing on 30 August 2026. Describes the PC version. Console versions differ.
What does it cost?
Steam price in US dollars, read 30 August 2026. Prices move hourly and vary by region. Check the current price.
Is Dark and Light worth it?
52% of 11,829 Steam reviews are positive, which Steam rates Mixed. It costs $17.99 on Steam. About 35 people were playing at once when we last checked, so it is still active.
That is the data, not a verdict for sale: whether it is worth it depends on the price you pay and what you want. We have not published our own review of this game.
Where Dark and Light sits on the grid
Compare the whole catalogueDark and Light plotted on the axes the GamingPickz Score is built from, on the full 0 to 100 scale so its position is its real one. Change either axis to see where it lands.
1 games have both
Players. The share of Steam reviews marked positive, pulled toward the catalogue average in proportion to how few reviews stand behind it. A game with 200 reviews moves a long way toward the average; one with 200,000 barely moves at all. Without this a title sitting at 100 percent on nine reviews outranks Half-Life 2 at 98 percent on 278,000.
Popularity. A blend of two things that are not the same. Audience is how many people wrote a Steam review, which is a floor on how many played it. Reach is how many language editions of Wikipedia document the game, which is cultural footprint rather than sales. A game can score high on one and low on the other: a huge free-to-play title has audience without reach, and a landmark console exclusive has reach without a Steam audience at all. Where both exist they are averaged; where only one does, that one carries it.
- PC
Every point links to that game's entry. The value map and the reception map are fixed views of the same data.
How positions are decided
No paid placement, no favouritism, live third-party data
- Placed by the published method, not by us. Every coordinate is computed from the axis definitions and weights printed on this site. Nobody moves a point. See the axes.
- Nothing here is paid for. No sponsored placements, no promoted slots, no arrangement of any kind affects a position. If that ever changes it will be labelled and sit outside the ranking.
- No favouritism, including our own. The 16 games we have written full reviews of are scored by exactly the same formula as the other 1,510, from the same third-party inputs, and they land where it puts them. Our own opinion of a game does not enter its coordinates.
- A position is not an endorsement. It says how a game was received and what it costs, not that we recommend it. Where we do recommend something, it carries a written review with a name on it.
- Fetched from live third-party data. Player sentiment from Steam, critic aggregates as published on store pages, prices checked hourly, attention from Wikipedia. Each figure carries its source and the date it was read, and we do not adjust any of them.
Is Dark and Light still active? Players right now
Dark and Light has a small, niche following: 35 people were playing at once when we last read Steam on 19 October 2026. This is a snapshot, not a live counter, and it is a recent concurrent reading rather than an all-time record. For what is trending across the catalogue right now, see the pulse.
How many people own Dark and Light
This is an estimate, not a sales figure, and the two are not interchangeable. SteamSpy samples public profiles and publishes a range; the range here spans a factor of 2.0, and that width is the honest part of it. We show both ends rather than a midpoint, because a midpoint would look like a measurement.
Steam only. Console and storefront sales are not counted, so a game that sold heavily elsewhere reads low here. Read on 19 October 2026. Where a publisher has announced a real unit figure, that appears separately and carries its source.
Estimated sales for Dark and Light
These are estimates, not reported figures. Snail Games USA has not published unit sales for Dark and Light, and nobody outside the company can measure them. What follows is arithmetic on the review count, with the method printed below so you can check it or reject it.
How this was calculated
Steam sales track review counts closely enough that dividing one by the other across games with published figures gives a usable multiplier. This is the standard method for estimating sales from outside a publisher.
| Reviews on Steam | 11,829 |
|---|---|
| Sales per review | 30 to 60 |
| List price | $17.99 |
| Assumed average selling price | 33% to 66% of list |
| SteamSpy owner estimate | 500K–1.0M, a different measure, see below |
What this cannot tell you
Steam only. Console, Epic, GOG and retail sales are not in here. For a game that sold heavily on PlayStation this is a fraction of the real number.
The band is wide because the method is imprecise. Review rates vary with price, genre, launch era and how insistently a game asks. Published analyses put the ratio between 30 and 60 for paid games, and we show the whole range rather than picking a point in it.
The owner estimate above measures something else. SteamSpy counts accounts that have the game, which includes free weekends, bundles, giveaways and gifts. It sits higher than a sales figure for that reason, and the two are not alternative answers to the same question.
Revenue is the shakiest line. It assumes an average selling price well below list because most copies move in sales, and it ignores regional pricing, refunds, key resellers and whatever deal the publisher actually has with Valve. Treat it as an order of magnitude, not a figure.
If Snail Games USA publishes a real number we will use that instead and say where it came from. Our editorial policy covers how we handle figures we cannot verify.
Dark and Light price & deals: is it on sale?
We have one reading so far: $17.99 on 30 August 2026. Prices are checked daily from here, and this becomes a chart once there is more than one point to join. A single observation is a price, not a history.
What readers say about Dark and Light
Reviews written by people who have played it. These are separate from the GamingPickz Score and are never averaged into it: that score comes from thousands of Steam reviews with a sample-size correction, and a handful of unverified ratings would distort it rather than improve it.
Loading reviews…
Dark and Light mods
Dark and Light supports Steam Workshop, and the 20 most-installed mods have 265,581 subscribers between them. The most installed is Archos/Shard of Faith Atlas.
Did it run on your PC?
Tell other players how it ran on your machine. One tap, from your saved PC if you have one.
Where Dark and Light appears
The ranked lists and finder pages Dark and Light qualifies for, from its own genre and platform to what it takes to run.
Get the weekly rundown
One email a week: what moved in the rankings, what launched, and what dropped in price. No more than that, and unsubscribing takes one click.
We send the weekly email and nothing else. Your address is never sold, shared or used to build a profile, and it is not readable by anyone visiting this site. See our privacy policy.
Games like Dark and Light
24 games overlap with Dark and Light on the tags Steam players applied to it, on genre, and on theme. The closest are Day of Dragons, PixARK and ARK: Survival Ascended.
Dark and Light head to head
See Dark and Light compared side by side, on score, price, specs and more:
More Dark and Light comparisons: vs Mortal Online 2, vs Albion Online, vs Reign of Guilds
Common questions about Dark and Light
What platforms is Dark and Light on?
Dark and Light is available on PC. It first released in 2017.
How much does Dark and Light cost?
$17.99 on Steam in the United States, read on 30 August 2026. Prices move often and vary by region, so check the store before buying.
Do players recommend Dark and Light?
52% of 11,829 Steam reviews are positive, which Steam rates Mixed. That is players rating it, not our review. We have not published a review of this game.
Does Dark and Light work on Steam Deck?
Valve rates Dark and Light as playable on the Steam Deck, from its own testing.
How big is the Dark and Light download?
50 GB on PC, from the storage requirement on its Steam listing. Console versions differ.
Who made Dark and Light?
Dark and Light was developed by Snail Games USA and published by Snail Games USA.
Is Dark and Light worth it in 2026?
52% of 11,829 Steam reviews are positive (Mixed), and it is $17.99 on steam. That is the strongest signal we hold; "worth it" depends on the price you pay and what you want, so weigh the sentiment against the current price above.
Is Dark and Light dead?
No. About 35 people were in-game at once when we last read Steam's concurrent-player figure. Peak activity is higher; this is a recent snapshot, not the all-time peak.
Is Dark and Light on sale?
Not at the moment. Dark and Light is at its $17.99 list price on Steam, read on 30 August 2026. It has been cheaper before; the price history above shows when.