
Baldur's Gate
The classic returns! Baldur’s Gate: Enhanced Edition restores the full original adventure and Tales of the Sword Coast, now polished with quality‑of‑life upgrades for a smoother timeless Dungeons & Dragons journey.
Action AdventureRole-PlayingStrategy
Your like matters. Every heart nudges this game's GamingPickz Score and where it ranks (a small 5% of the score), so the lists get better for everyone.
- Released
- 1998
- Developer
- Not recorded
- Platforms
- 1 systems
- Critics
- 78
- Steam Deck
- playable
- Download
- Not stated
What is Baldur's Gate?
The classic returns! Baldur’s Gate: Enhanced Edition restores the full original adventure and Tales of the Sword Coast, now polished with quality‑of‑life upgrades for a smoother timeless Dungeons & Dragons journey.
Description as published by the developer on its own store page, read 30 August 2026. It is marketing copy, not our assessment.
The record
| First released | 21 December 1998 |
|---|---|
| Developer | Not recorded |
| Publisher | Interplay Entertainment |
| Platforms | PC |
| Genres | Action Adventure, Role-Playing, Strategy |
| Languages | 15 supported |
Source. Catalogue facts from Wikidata Q663583, seeded 30 August 2026. Store data from Steam, read 30 August 2026.
How was Baldur's Gate received?
Method. Player figures are Steam's own totals for the PC version, read 30 August 2026. The Metacritic score is the one Steam publishes on its store page and can lag the site itself. Metacritic page. Neither is our opinion. We have not published a review of this game.
What does it support?
| Capability | Support |
|---|---|
| Controller | Not stated |
| Cloud saves | Yes |
| Cross-platform play | Yes |
| Mod support | No official workshop |
| Online play | Yes |
| In-game purchases | No |
| Steam Deck | playable |
| Download size | Not stated |
| Add-on content | 5 DLC listed |
| Age gate | None |
Method. Read from the publisher's Steam listing on 30 August 2026. Describes the PC version. Console versions differ.
What does it cost?
Steam price in US dollars, read 30 August 2026. Prices move hourly and vary by region. Check the current price.
Is Baldur's Gate worth it?
92% of 17,990 Steam reviews are positive, which Steam rates Very Positive. It costs $19.99 on Steam, and critics score it 78/100.
That is the data, not a verdict for sale: whether it is worth it depends on the price you pay and what you want. Players do report problems — see the reported-problems section below before buying. We have not published our own review of this game.
How long is Baldur's Gate? How long to beat it
Total play time for Baldur's Gate is about 105.4 hours to do everything, and around 44 hours to reach the end of the main story. These are player-submitted times from HowLongToBeat, not our own, shown with the number of players behind each.
| How you play | Hours | Players logged |
|---|---|---|
| Just the main story: straight through the critical path | 44h | 45 |
| Main + the extras: story plus the side content most people do | 58.9h | 78 |
| Completionist: everything: 100% the game | 105.4h | 32 |
At its current price of $19.99, beating the main story works out to about $0.45 per hour. That is the price divided by the hours, a value read and not a verdict: a longer game costs less per hour, which is not the same as being the better game.
Source: HowLongToBeat community submissions, read 2026-10-19.
Baldur's Gate system requirements
The minimum requirements from Baldur's Gate's Steam page. These are what it takes to launch and be playable, not to run at high settings.
| Memory | 1 GB RAM (other games at this level) |
|---|---|
| Processor | Dual Core Processor |
| Graphics | OpenGL 2.0 compatible |
| System | 64-bit OS required |
Where Baldur's Gate sits on the grid
Compare the whole catalogueBaldur's Gate plotted on the axes the GamingPickz Score is built from, on the full 0 to 100 scale so its position is its real one. Change either axis to see where it lands.
1 games have both
Players. The share of Steam reviews marked positive, pulled toward the catalogue average in proportion to how few reviews stand behind it. A game with 200 reviews moves a long way toward the average; one with 200,000 barely moves at all. Without this a title sitting at 100 percent on nine reviews outranks Half-Life 2 at 98 percent on 278,000.
Popularity. A blend of two things that are not the same. Audience is how many people wrote a Steam review, which is a floor on how many played it. Reach is how many language editions of Wikipedia document the game, which is cultural footprint rather than sales. A game can score high on one and low on the other: a huge free-to-play title has audience without reach, and a landmark console exclusive has reach without a Steam audience at all. Where both exist they are averaged; where only one does, that one carries it.
- PC
Every point links to that game's entry. The value map and the reception map are fixed views of the same data.
How positions are decided
No paid placement, no favouritism, live third-party data
- Placed by the published method, not by us. Every coordinate is computed from the axis definitions and weights printed on this site. Nobody moves a point. See the axes.
- Nothing here is paid for. No sponsored placements, no promoted slots, no arrangement of any kind affects a position. If that ever changes it will be labelled and sit outside the ranking.
- No favouritism, including our own. The 16 games we have written full reviews of are scored by exactly the same formula as the other 1,510, from the same third-party inputs, and they land where it puts them. Our own opinion of a game does not enter its coordinates.
- A position is not an endorsement. It says how a game was received and what it costs, not that we recommend it. Where we do recommend something, it carries a written review with a name on it.
- Fetched from live third-party data. Player sentiment from Steam, critic aggregates as published on store pages, prices checked hourly, attention from Wikipedia. Each figure carries its source and the date it was read, and we do not adjust any of them.
Estimated sales for Baldur's Gate
These are estimates, not reported figures. The publisher has not published unit sales for Baldur's Gate, and nobody outside the company can measure them. What follows is arithmetic on the review count, with the method printed below so you can check it or reject it.
How this was calculated
Steam sales track review counts closely enough that dividing one by the other across games with published figures gives a usable multiplier. This is the standard method for estimating sales from outside a publisher.
| Reviews on Steam | 17,990 |
|---|---|
| Sales per review | 30 to 60 |
| List price | $19.99 |
| Assumed average selling price | 33% to 66% of list |
What this cannot tell you
Steam only. Console, Epic, GOG and retail sales are not in here. For a game that sold heavily on PlayStation this is a fraction of the real number.
The band is wide because the method is imprecise. Review rates vary with price, genre, launch era and how insistently a game asks. Published analyses put the ratio between 30 and 60 for paid games, and we show the whole range rather than picking a point in it.
The owner estimate above measures something else. SteamSpy counts accounts that have the game, which includes free weekends, bundles, giveaways and gifts. It sits higher than a sales figure for that reason, and the two are not alternative answers to the same question.
Revenue is the shakiest line. It assumes an average selling price well below list because most copies move in sales, and it ignores regional pricing, refunds, key resellers and whatever deal the publisher actually has with Valve. Treat it as an order of magnitude, not a figure.
If the publisher publishes a real number we will use that instead and say where it came from. Our editorial policy covers how we handle figures we cannot verify.
Baldur's Gate price & deals: is it on sale?
We have one reading so far: $19.99 on 30 August 2026. Prices are checked daily from here, and this becomes a chart once there is more than one point to join. A single observation is a price, not a history.
Latest Baldur's Gate updates & patch notes
Pulled from Baldur's Gate's own Steam feed on 5 September 2026. Posts marked as from the studio were written by the developer; the rest are articles Steam syndicated from elsewhere. Every one links to its source.
- 2.7 Update for Baldur's Gate & Icewind Dale EEs
- 2.7 Beta patch: BIF files indexing fix, improved SoD language handling, and more
- Complete the CRPG Classics Bundle—Baldur's Gate & Pillars of Eternity collection
- 2.7 Beta updated with ALL CAPS fix, Russian SoD translation & iOS beta access
- The latest Humble Bundle packs 9 CRPGs, including some of the best to ever do it, for a little over $20
- 2.7 Beta updated with new Chinese font & per‑language font zoom
What readers say about Baldur's Gate
Reviews written by people who have played it. These are separate from the GamingPickz Score and are never averaged into it: that score comes from thousands of Steam reviews with a sample-size correction, and a handful of unverified ratings would distort it rather than improve it.
Loading reviews…
Problems players report
We read the 300 most recent negative Steam reviews of Baldur's Gate on 30 August 2026 and counted what they mention. These are complaints, not confirmed defects: we have not reproduced any of them, and a review describes one person's machine. What the counts tell you is which problems more than one person ran into.
- Crashes and freezes13 of 300 (4%)
Playing multiplayer means permanent discounections, crashes and disappearing items all the time.
Steam review, 28 February 2025 · 39 hours played · 10 readers marked it helpfulDid I mention it is also full of bugs, and crashes all the time.
Steam review, 1 February 2023 · 12 hours played · 3 readers marked it helpful - Will not launch or install10 of 300 (3%)
For me, i can run it on STEAM Deck and on my Laptop with I7 12 Gen and a RTX 4060 GPU, but on my Desktop PC with a RTX 3080 cant launch it.
Steam review, 26 March 2024 · 35 hours played · 24 readers marked it helpfulIf you can't run Baldur's Gate 3 but wish for a similar experience, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.
Steam review, 12 August 2023 · 10 hours played · 5 readers marked it helpful
A further 11 reviews call the game buggy or broken without saying how, which is why they are counted separately rather than assigned to a theme. Counted by keyword across review text, so a review discussing two problems is counted under both. Read the reviews yourself.
Did it run on your PC?
Tell other players how it ran on your machine. One tap, from your saved PC if you have one.
Where Baldur's Gate appears
The ranked lists and finder pages Baldur's Gate qualifies for, from its own genre and platform to what it takes to run.
Get the weekly rundown
One email a week: what moved in the rankings, what launched, and what dropped in price. No more than that, and unsubscribing takes one click.
We send the weekly email and nothing else. Your address is never sold, shared or used to build a profile, and it is not readable by anyone visiting this site. See our privacy policy.
Games like Baldur's Gate
24 games overlap with Baldur's Gate on the tags Steam players applied to it, on genre, and on theme. The closest are Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition, Neverwinter Nights and Tyranny.
Baldur's Gate head to head
See Baldur's Gate compared side by side, on score, price, specs and more:
Common questions about Baldur's Gate
What platforms is Baldur's Gate on?
Baldur's Gate is available on PC. It first released in 1998.
How much does Baldur's Gate cost?
$19.99 on Steam in the United States, read on 30 August 2026. Prices move often and vary by region, so check the store before buying.
Do players recommend Baldur's Gate?
92% of 17,990 Steam reviews are positive, which Steam rates Very Positive. That is players rating it, not our review. We have not published a review of this game.
What is the Metacritic score for Baldur's Gate?
78 out of 100 for the PC version, as published on the game's own Steam store page. Steam can lag Metacritic by a few points.
Does Baldur's Gate work on Steam Deck?
Valve rates Baldur's Gate as playable on the Steam Deck, from its own testing.
Is Baldur's Gate worth it in 2026?
92% of 17,990 Steam reviews are positive (Very Positive), and it is $19.99 on steam. That is the strongest signal we hold; "worth it" depends on the price you pay and what you want, so weigh the sentiment against the current price above.
Is Baldur's Gate on sale?
Not at the moment. Baldur's Gate is at its $19.99 list price on Steam, read on 30 August 2026. It has been cheaper before; the price history above shows when.
What are the system requirements for Baldur's Gate?
At minimum, Baldur's Gate needs 1 GB RAM, a Dual Core Processor, a OpenGL 2.0 compatible, from its Steam listing. That is what it takes to launch and be playable, not to run at high settings. Check it against your own PC on the can-I-run page.
How long does it take to beat Baldur's Gate?
about 44 hours for the main story, 58.9 hours with the main extras, 105.4 hours to complete everything, from HowLongToBeat's player-submitted times. These are community medians, so your own run may be shorter or longer.
Is Baldur's Gate worth the money?
At $19.99 for about 44 hours to beat the main story, Baldur's Gate works out to roughly $0.45 per hour. That is a value read, not a verdict: a longer game costs less per hour, which is not the same as being better. Weigh it against the review sentiment above.